Best Sandwiches In St. Louis According To Me

St. Louis Sandwich Comparisons

Because I'm only one dad and can't eat every sandwich in the city, I visit as many highly-rated sandwich shops as possible while sticking to recommendations from friends, family, and long-time St. Louis residents.

These rankings are based on a combination of taste and price, with a lesser emphasis on service and atmosphere. I use Subway as the baseline comparison as a 5/10 sandwich. You can read more details on my restaurant review philosophy.

But remember, I don't make the rules; I just think ‘em up and write ‘em down.

Join The Newsletter

Weekly reviews of restaurants, parks, and things to do All Around Saint Louis.

Best Sandwiches In St. Louis

  1. #1 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Blues City Deli

    Blues City Deli Takeaway. Happiness is family, friends, and Blues City Deli sandwiches. Hot Italian is my go-to. The best sandwich in St. Louis. Get anything with roast beef. $10.50 before tax and tip. Super fast service. Line out the door only means 15 minutes. Park on a side street. Limited seating. Get there before 11:30 a.m. for no line.

    Every staff member is perky, talkative, and helpful. People come from all around Saint Louis. Everything great about St. Louis in one deli.

    Update: After visiting another 15 sandwich shops in the past three months, I came back to Blues City Deli and it somehow managed to beat my expectations.

    Blues City Deli
  2. #2 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Carl's Deli

    Carl's Deli Takeaway. My go-to in St. Louis when I have a pastrami hankering. Overloaded sandwich with at least half a pound of meat. 9.3 / 10 pastrami sandwich. 9.6 oz of meat is a behemoth. Not quite NYC quality, but close. Solid rye, mustard, and pickle. $11.95 for a sandwich pre-tax. Service is slow, so expect 2-3 minutes per person in line. Bagels for $1, but not fresh. Parking is a three-minute walk for free or closer with change. Tip: Bring cash to save 3%.

    Update: Went back today, and it was as delicious as ever. The weight varies per sandwich maker, but it should be at least half a pound. Super friendly service.

    Carl's Deli
  3. #3 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Union Loafers

    Union Loafers Takeaway. The Crown Jewel Of St. Louis. My favorite St. Louis restaurant. 8/10 Salad. 8.9/10 Sandwiches. 9.5/10 Pizza. 10/10 Sourdough Bread.

    The Simone Biles of STL food.

    Always order a loaf. Get anything with bread. ~$8 bread. $8 salad. $15 sandwiches. It's expensive. Ask your parents to take you when they come to town. Twenty minutes to an hour for pick up. Ordering pizza can be a pain. Parking is easy on side streets with a three-minute walk. Tip: Try a pizza rosa with chili oil at lunch. Note: Pizza review coming in the future.

    Union Loafers
  4. #4 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    LeGrand's Market & Catering

    LeGrand's Market & Catering Takeaway. LeGrand's Legend Club is layers of legreat. A beautiful beast of a sandwich. 8.8/10 sandwich. More meats than I can remember. The antithesis of vegan. Meat on meat on cheese on cheese. Most affordable sandwich yet at $11.16 after tax and tip. Friendly and quick service. It weighed 11.4 oz with 7.6 oz of meat. Compact but delicious.

    Another sandwich that will make you happy inside. One of the best sandwiches in St. Louis, with a fierce following. Reddit recommended.

    A dozen tables of sitting. Attached grocery. Dedicated parking lot was empty at 11 a.m. Call ahead about twenty minutes to pick up.

    LeGrand's Market & Catering
  5. #5 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Parker's Table

    Parker's Table Takeaway. The Adult Sandwich Store. Surprisingly delicious salami sandwich cracked the top five best in St. Louis for me at 8.5/10. Small sandwich, but comes with chips and a drink. $13 for a 9 oz sandwich with 4.8 oz of meat, chips, and drink. The smoked brisket sandwich bite I stole from my father-in-law was also heavenly. Salad wasn't what I had imagined for $11.

    Loved the vibes. For being a wine, cheese, and fancy meat shop, it is incredibly unpretentious. The average age in the store with me in it was easily 55+, and I'm 36. Amazing seating area with museum-worthy art, at least IMO.

    Sandwiches are from 11 am - 2 pm. Service was a bit slow, taking over 20 minutes to get us our sandwiches, being third in line. Unfortunately, parking cost $.50 on the meter, and I didn't see a way to avoid it. From the vibes to the sandwich, just a surprisingly delicious experience from start to finish.

    Update: Went back with friends today. Time-to-sandwich was considerably improved to under 5 minutes. Also found free parking a block away, but you have to be careful not end up in a lot that will get you towed.

    Parker's Table
  6. #6 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Nomad STL

    Nomad Takeaway. A unique smoked pastrami experience. In-house smoked pastrami is amazing. 8.3/10 sandwich could easily push past 8.5 if you like the smokiness. $14 for a sandwich is $17.57 after tax and tip. Amazing atmosphere. It's an adventure from the minute you walk in to when you take your seat. You follow Alice down the rabbit hole from room to room until you hit the patio Wonderland. I loved it. Plenty of street parking. Dogtown seems like the place to be. One of the best sandwiches in St. Louis. Their listed weight didn't match my scale...

    Nomad STL
  7. #7 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Vivola Express

    Vivola Express Takeaway. Fantastic local sandwich shop with top-quality meats, cheeses, and breads. The classic Italian sandwich was a 8.1/10 for $14. Expect a line of 20-30 minutes by 11:30 AM. I have no idea how Subway stays in business next door.

    Vivola Express
  8. #8 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Gioia's Deli

    Gioia's Deli Takeaway. A meaty marvel. 7.8/10 sandwich. Eating this sandwich is a joyous experience. 24oz total with 8oz of meat is one of the biggest sandwiches in St. Louis. $14.36 with tax and tip. Order ahead online to avoid a wait. Expect 1 minute per person in line and then another six for the sandwich to be made. Seating inside and outside. Fun Italian deli experience and decorations. Can be incredibly busy. Parking is simple in a dedicated lot or on the street, depending on the location. There's no L in the name despite what my brain says.

    Gioia's Deli
  9. #9 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Eovaldi's Deli

    Eovaldi's Deli Takeaway. Solid ginormous Italian sandwiches in The Hill. Yelp, Google, and Reddit like it more than I did. 7.2/10 Sicilian Bomber. 6.2/10 Italian. $11.95 for a huge 27.8 oz behemoth with an amazing 13.8 oz of meat. Salami was the best part of both sandwiches. Sauce on the Sicilian smoked it. Roast beef fell relatively flat. Great vibes in a small Italian deli. Totally packed but cozy. Friendly, fast service from the owners. Parking is easy all around the shop.

    Eovaldi's Deli
  10. #10 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Mom's Deli

    Mom's Deli Takeaway. Thousand Island dressing worthy of showing off to your mom. The Mom's Special earned a 7.1/10 sandwich score. $9.50 for my 9" sandwich weighing 16.9oz. Most sandwiches are $9 and under. The sauce carries the sandwich. Good neighborhood deli with mom and pop feel. Got recs on the gravy but forgot to try it myself. Sandwich maker said it's crazy busy in the summer, but nothing happening on a Wednesday at noon in January. No line, time-to-sandwich was under 5 minutes. Three women manning the bar. Limited seating. Sreet parking down the road should be ample for keeping your walk under three minutes.

    Mom's Deli
  11. #11 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Lion's Choice

    Lion's Choice Takeaway. Choose Wisely, Choose Lion's Choice. Surprisingly solid 7.0 / 10 sandwich score. Crosses The Flood Line. Best of the faster food ones, this came out in 22 seconds before the receipt finished printing. $7.89 for 7.7 oz and 5.4 oz of meat. Cheapest in the city by a mile.

    Great choice if you're on the go and need to pick a sandwich up that's considerably better and cheaper than Subway.

    Only sandwich place with a drive-thru so far. Parking in dedicated lots. Reddit recommended.

    Lion's Choice
  12. #12 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Adriana's On The Hill

    Adriana's On The Hill Takeaway. Ideal Italian sandwich shop on the hill. 6.9/10 Italian beef sandwich. 7oz of delicious Italian meat on a foot-long Italian loaf. $14.27 after tax and tip is average. Super friendly service. Ten-minute wait Thursday at Noon. Out the door on Saturday. Easy parking on the street within a three-minute walk. Plenty of indoor tables and outdoor seating available. Tip: Check the daily specials before heading over. Reddit recommended, but not my favorite.

    Adriana's On The Hill
  13. #13 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    The Gramophone StL

    The Gramophone StL Takeaway. The "Drunk Sandwich Spot." Half the sandwich was great and other half was Schnucks level turkey. 6.7/10 Sandwich. They have 40 sandwiches. Intense pub atmosphere. Quick service. Expensive at $18+ all in for a sandwich. Easy parking. Beer on tap. Patio in the back for warmer days. Seems like a great place for a midnight sandwich for drunk twenty-somethings. I'm too old to fully appreciate the vibe. Tip: Get a full sandwich. A half is a kid's meal.

    The Gramophone StL
  14. #14 Best Sandwich In St. Louis

    Snarf's Sandwiches

    Snarf's Sandwiches Takeaway. Souped Up Subway. Good in a pinch if other places are closed. 6.4/10 Italian sandwich. Seems like it would have been better 10 years ago, but hasn't quite kept up. 12" sandwich is massive for $13.50. 24.4 oz total with 5.6 oz of meat. Bread was the best part. Solid condiments and toppings. Parking is easy in a dedicated lot but depends on location. 6 locations in St. Louis and more across the country. Definitely a bit corporate now, with sandwiches stuck in 2013.

    Snarf's Sandwiches

The Comparison Sandwich

The Comparison Sandwich

Subway

Subway Takeaway. The "Everyperson's Sandwich." Solid 5 out of 10 sandwich. The control group for comparing other sandwiches. $11.91 after tax and tip seems expensive. Super fast service. Incredibly high-calorie count. Meat lacks flavor, so get toppings. Brings me back to my first job. Parking is usually convenient. Subway Smell as soon as you walk in. A footlong is good for two meals.

Subway

Sandwiches That Didn't Make The Cut

  1. Pickles Deli

    Pickles Deli Takeaway. Count me out of this costly Cuban. Cuban scored 4.1/10, while Italian put up a 4.9/10. Tiny sandwiches at only 8.3 oz for $10.99 with 3.6 oz of meat. Pork was dry. Italian lacked cohesion. Pickles put me in a pickle with the quality of their pickles - boring sandwich style. Parking is hard in the Central West End, even for pickup. Service was timely, and the order was ready on time.

    Pickles Deli
  2. Fozzie's Sandwich Emporium

    Fozzie's Sandwich Emporium Takeaway. Ruined my Tuesday. Worst sandwich so far in St. Louis. 2.1/10 sandwich. First time I didn't finish the sandwich because it was bad. Thought I had Covid it was so bland. Big Bend Mafia is an open-faced sandwich on a hot dog bun. $12.95 for a 15 oz sandwich with ~6.8 oz of meat. Easy ordering online for pickup. Plenty of parking in a dedicated lot. Setting up a new bet with friends to come back.

    Fozzie's Sandwich Emporium
  3. Protzel's Deli

    Protzel's Deli Takeaway. No longer the worst St. Louis sandwich thus far. 1.9/10 pastrami sandwich. Stringy pastrami, stale bread, slow (friendly) service, so sad. Was told it was 8oz of meat, but only clocked in at 6.8oz. $13 for a large, $15.23 all in with tax and tip. Took over 10 minutes to make. Limited seating. Fun Jewish deli atmosphere with knishes and Dr. Browns. Parking is paid right outside, so go around the corner or down the road. This is how Subway stays in business.

    Protzel's Deli
Join The Newsletter

Weekly reviews of restaurant, parks, and things to do All Around Saint Louis.